In our workshop, we will focus on two chakras: the heart chakra and the root chakra.

Let's see what the chakras are and these two specific chakras.

You might be aware of chakras. In our body, we have seven main chakras that run from the crown of the head to the base of your spine, and those are:

Crown Chakra

Third Eye Chakra

Throat Chakra

Heart Chakra

Solar Plexus Chakra

Sacral Chakra

Root Chakra

"Chakra (chakra in Sanskrit) means 'wheel' and refers to energy points in your body. They are thought to be spinning disks of energy that should stay 'open' and aligned, as they correspond to bundles of nerves, major organs, and areas of our energetic body that affect our emotional and physical well-being". (Stelter, 2016)

Chakras are a complex energy system, a vortex of energy within our body. Each chakra spinning properly allows Qi energy to flow through the body. We first find them mentioned in the Vedas, ancient sacred texts of spiritual knowledge dating from 1500- 1000 BC.

If the chakras are blocked, there is no free flow of Qi energy, meaning your well-being can suffer. There are many factors why chakras can be blocked: Stress, anxiety or emotional upheaval are some of them.

What are the signs of a chakra being blocked? How can you unblock a chakra?

Each chakra has different characteristics, signs of being blocked and ways to unblock them.

During this workshop, we will be focusing on the Heart Chakra and the Root Chakra.

Let's start with the Heart Chakra or Anahata.

"In Sanskrit, "Anahata" means unhurt, unstruck and unbeaten. It is the fourth primary chakra and serves as our centre of love for oneself and others, compassion, empathy and forgiveness. The Anahata chakra is associated with unconditional love, compassion, and joy. It is the source of deep and profound truths that cannot be expressed in words. Anahata is a bridge between the lower and upper chakras integrating the manifest with the spiritual, says yoga teacher Stephanie Snyder."

(Amoosbrugger, 2022)

"Blocks in our heart chakra can manifest in our physical health through heart problems, asthma, and weight issues. But blocks are often seen even more clearly through people's actions.

People with heart chakra blocks often put others first, to their own detriment. It's the middle of the seven chakras, so it bridges the gap between our upper and lower chakras, and it also represents our ability to love and connect to others. When out of alignment, it can make us feel lonely, insecure, and isolated". (Stelter, 2016)

The Heart Chakra represents the element of air that flows around us and disperses and integrates the spiritual understanding of love, connection with everything around you and compassion.

It is represented by the colour green, which symbolizes transformation and love energy.

When your Heart Chakra is spinning and allowing Qi energy to flow, you feel connected with the world and those around you and surrounded with love, compassion and joy. You feel open to what life has put in front of you and ready to take on challenges.

When the Heart Chakra is open, you see the beauty of the world, others and yourself. You experience vital self-love and acceptance of your mind and body.

But if the Heart Chakra is blocked, you experience exactly the opposite.

What are the signs of a blocked Heart Chakra?

"Blocked chakras can affect the entirety of our being, notes Snyder. Symptoms of blocked energy can manifest as physical ailments or disease. The heart chakra directly affects the heart, lungs, chest, arms, and hands. When misaligned, poor circulation, high or low blood pressure, and other heart and lung conditions can result. Issues that can occur in the body can also include infections of the lungs, bronchitis, and circulatory problems.

Blocked energy can also have a profound effect on the nature of our mind and mental state. Mentally, an imbalanced heart chakra can result in problematic issues, such as co-dependency, manipulative behaviors, feeling of unworthiness, and an inability to trust yourself or others, says Snyder.

Other signs your heart chakra may be blocked:

  • You may tend isolate yourself excessively
  • You feel lonely
  • You hold grudges against people you love
  • You frequently feel jealous
  • You're overly defensive
  • You have a fear of intimacy
  • You put yourself in the role of the rescuer or victim
  • You find it difficult to trust others" (Stelter, 2016)

How to unblock the Heart Chakra?

  • Practise gratitude. Write a Gratitude Journal.
  • Hold asanas for backbends and chest opening.
  • Use rose quartz.
  • Drink cacao and rose tea, and other heart-opening beverages.
  • Practise heart-opening affirmations.
  • Use heart-opening stones.


Moosbrugger (2022) Everything you need to know about the heart chakra, Yoga Journal. Available at: (Accessed: October 21, 2022).

Stelter, G. (2016) Chakras: A beginner's guide to the 7 chakras, Healthline. Healthline Media. Available at: (Accessed: October 21, 2022).

Send a Message

An email will be sent to the owner.

Please let us know if you'd like to receive our newsletter.

And don't forget to follow us in Instagram @hackneyaerialyoga and our resident isntructor @azaharayoga

Follow Me